DUI Attorney Middlesex County, NJ
Drivers in New Jersey must take DUI or DWI charges seriously. The state regulates and enforces strict laws and penalties for those found guilty of driving while under the influence. If you’re charged with a DUI in Middlesex County, NJ, you have no time to waste. You should contact a DUI attorney to begin building your defense. Without help from New Jersey DUI lawyers, you’re at the mercy of the state. That is to say, you’re likely to lose your license for a period and may face imprisonment. New Jersey DWI lawyers can help you mitigate the penalties for any offenses. In fact, a DWI lawyer may be able to eliminate the charge if they successfully argue that the state illegally obtained its evidence.
New Jersey DUI Lawyers
New Jersey’s state government takes driving under the influence seriously. Your DUI attorney can inform you that there are several possible outcomes to a DUI conviction. If it’s your first charge and your blood-alcohol content (BAC) was at least 0.08% and below 0.10%, you will receive some or all of the following:
- 3-month license suspension
- Imprisonment up to 30 days
- A fine ranging from $250 to $400
- A mandatory 12-48 hour visit to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
- Fees including a $230 IDRC fee, $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee, $100 contribution to the Drunk Driving Fund, $75 contribution to the Neighborhood Services Fund, and surcharges up to $1,000 per year for the next three years
New Jersey DUI lawyers have seen the penalties raise significantly for those who test at a BAC of 0.10% or greater:
- License suspension increasing to a range of 7 to 12 months
- The DUI fine increasing to a range of $300 to $500
- For BAC at 0.15% or higher: mandatory use of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for 6 months to a year after the suspension is over.
In many cases, it may seem like a tough hill to climb, as the state has a recording of BAC at the time you were stopped. They will rely primarily on this evidence in the courtroom. Nevertheless, a DUI attorney can find ways to protect you in Middlesex County, NJ.
Adams, Cassese & Papp L.L.C. will fight for your rights. No matter what happened at a traffic stop, you have the right to a DUI attorney. However, to get the best results, you must be honest and provide an accurate account of what happened. After that, we’ll assemble a plan of defense and seek an appropriate courtroom setting in Middlesex County, NJ. Further, you will need to file paperwork prior to your court appearance, so we’ll help you understand and complete those forms.
As New Jersey DWI lawyers, we have spent years working with those who have been charged with this serious crime. It is always worth seeking a DWI lawyer to form a defense due to the long-term impact it has on those the court finds guilty.
New Jersey DWI Lawyers
Compared to those in other states, New Jersey DUI lawyers must work more diligently to win the case for clients. Nevertheless, our team is ready and able to make a defense to assist you. Contact a DUI attorney at Adams, Cassese and Papp L.L.C. for a free consultation.
We serve as New Jersey DWI lawyers for those in all areas of Middlesex County, including:
- Woodbridge, NJ
- New Brunswick, NJ
- Monroe, NJ
- Edison, NJ
- Perth Amboy, NJ
- Piscataway, NJ
If you’ve been charged with a DUI, don’t hesitate. Ultimately, the state gives you the right to defend yourself, so you should use that right as fully as you can. Call our office today to speak to a DWI lawyer today.